X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Credit limit for Tuition Assistance?

New to the Army here, so please... talk to me like I'm a beginner and explain acronyms if possible.

Background info: My husband has been in the National Guard for almost 10 years, including one tour of Iraq. He's headed to school this autumn to start college, where he intends to earn a B.S. in computer science. He's applied for Tuition Assistance via GoArmyEd.com and will probably apply for the G.I. Bill as well.

My question: Is there a credit limit cap on Tuition Assistance? He heard from someone once that the Army will only pay up to 120 credits. Most schools require between 120 and 135 credits for a bachelor's degree, so that seemed reasonable. We discovered yesterday, however, that the school he's planning on attending in Oregon requires a whopping 180 credits to graduate. This seems average for most schools in the state -- most of them require around 180, but they also seem to offer more credits per class (for example, 5 credits for an Intro to Biology class with a lab, instead of 3 or 4 like most universities) -- but paying for the extra 40 credits puts a damper on our financial situation.

I looked online and found a cap of $250 per credit or $4,500 per fiscal year, but absolutely nothing mentioning a credit or time limit. My husband tried contacting the GoArmyEd.com help number, but apparently there was a several-hours-long wait, and I figured if anyone knew anything I could find them here.

Any information would be much appreciated!

Re: Credit limit for Tuition Assistance?

one degree......if you start in the middle of the degree using fta, it is still one degree.........

Comment