X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• HPLRP

I am a practicing dentist and I am considering the guard for student loan repayment. I have not gotten a direct answer from recruiters but I have federal and private student loans. Will my private loans be eligible for repayment?

Re: HPLRP

Originally posted by Eagle01 View Post
    I am a practicing dentist and I am considering the guard for student loan repayment. I have not gotten a direct answer from recruiters but I have federal and private student loans. Will my private loans be eligible for repayment?
    No, private loans are not eligible for SLRP. Check out the SLRP sticky under the benefits section. It will give you an overview of what the requirements are.

Comment

Actually, HPLRP loans are handled a little differently than SLRP loans. It's a different animal. I'd be cautious about referring folks to the SLRP stickie because none of the policies cover HPLRP.

That said, OP, private loans DO NOT qualify for HPLRP. I know you mentioned there being a $18K year federal loan limit, but this isn't true. $18K (I think it's $18.5K?) might be the limit for federally SUBSIDIZED loans, but you can qualify for an additional $38K in federally UNSUBSIDIZED loans. Might you be confusing subsidized vs. unsubsidized with private vs. government?

As a licensed dentist, you qualify for $40K per year for a maximum of $240K total towards your student loans, but only for your federal loans. Your private loans do not qualify.

By the way, you might focus your questions on one thread rather than multiple ones. It cuts down on the efforts of folks trying to help you.

Comment

Eagle01- Please quit cross-posting. This is at least the fourth thread you've started with exactly the same question and the same people waste time giving you the same advice.

Please make one post and see what happens. You're not going to get better or different advice by blitzing the same question all around the site.