X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Guard Officer/Law Enforcement

I had a plan to go through ROTC and commission as an officer and then go active duty and do whatever the Army needs me to. But lately, I've been thinking that it might be better for me to just stay with the Guard even as an Officer. It would give me an opportunity to go for a second career and be able to do a lot more things with my life.

If an Army ROTC Cadet goes Active Duty, they have to put in a list of branches within the Army that they want to go into for a MOS and based on their overall performance in their unit, they get their first or last choice or anything in between. Is that the same with ROTC Cadets planning on going into the National Guard? Also, is the SMP program required for Cadets planning on commissioning in the Guard?

If I were to stay Guard as an Officer, I'd want to be a cop or some type of Federal Law Enforcement on the side. Is that possible? If so, what are some suggestions as to what particular field I go into? I'm willing to bet that someone out there has done this with their career(s) and I'd like to hear from them. Thanks!

Re: Guard Officer/Law Enforcement

If you want to get into federal LE especially FBI; Well they like people with accounting w/CPA or law degree JD. Usually people with LE background (not frowned upon)but have bad habits which are hard too break.

Your chances will improve if you live closer to DC. I'm no SME however I have attended many job fairs in the 80's, 90's, and 00's and nothing has changed much. They seek bright and intelligent people under the age of 35 w/ bachelors degree.

Most successful applicants are accountants and lawyers. If you can track cash you can track anything! It's like finding a needle in a haystack.

Don't limit your scope in federal special agent just to the FBI: AFOSI, NCIS, ATF, DEA, SS, US Marshals, Border patrol, and ICE.