X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tricare Reserve Select vs. Civilian Employer Coverage

I'm relatively new to the National Guard (came from AD USAF) and I've been on TRS for a few months but not needed to use any of it's benefits thankfully. I have now started a new civilian job that also offers health insurance (PPO plan or an HSA high deductible plan, but that's another question). I'm debating the differences between the PPO and HSA separately, but first I'd like to decide if I should stick with TRS or just go with my employer's plan. Basically my employers plan seems very similar in every aspect of coverage and costs. Is there any benefit to sticking with TRS, or going with my employer's plan?

Any help is appreciated. Thanks!

One minor advantage to TRS is that you would maintain the same coverage if you changed employers. Additionally, since you don't need employer coverage, your employer is thus saving money on you, and theoretically could afford to pay you some other benefit (e.g., disability insurance, increased retirement contribution). You may wish to enquire about this.

Comment

Originally posted by matthew.ritchie View Post
      One minor advantage to TRS is that you would maintain the same coverage if you changed employers. Additionally, since you don't need employer coverage, your employer is thus saving money on you, and theoretically could afford to pay you some other benefit (e.g., disability insurance, increased retirement contribution). You may wish to enquire about this.
      I'm intending to stay with this employer for quite a long time; unless things change drastically it should all work out. It's a large company, subsidary to General Dynamics, so I'm doubtful that they would increase one of my other benefits if I choose to stick with TRS. Any experience with this? Regardless, I'll ask about it and just see what happens. Any further info is appreciated.

Comment