X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Not really a question...

Just wanted to introduce myself. My name is Jaye and I am currently in the middle of an enlistment for the AL National Guard. Let me give you some back story. Back in December of 2011, I decided I wanted to join the NG. At 313 lbs that was not an option. Keep in mind, I'm a former football offensive guard and currently play rugby. After months of dieting, running and rucking, fast forward to today and I weigh under 250 and taped at 22% BF. I lost around 65 lbs for this dream of mine. I planned on enlisting as an 09S since I have a bachelor's degree from Auburn University and am half way through a MBA. But a teenie misdemeanor in 2002 TDQ'ed me until I can get an NGB waiver. So I was going to enlist as a 25U and put in an OCS packet later. I said was because when I went to MEPS, I passed everything with flying colors...even tape..except blood pressure. My BP is usually 127-135/79-85. That day it shot to 154/90. Another PDQ. I did the two day reading and the average was 141/81. One point over the standard. I thought my chances were all but dashed but my recruiter said he would send a waiver to the NGB. Any of you guys have to deal with a BP waiver? I really want to join the NG. Its really about serving my community and nation and not about benefits, pay, or "being cool." I want to do something that will better me in the long run. As it stands today, its been 15 working days waiting on the waiver. In the mean time, I'm going to keep working, learning from this forum, and PT-ing like I leave for Basic tomorrow. After a while of lurking, I figured I'd start contributing the best I can. Thanks for taking the time out to read.

SPC (hopefully) Slim

Re: Not really a question...

Everything else aside, losing 63 pounds is no easy task. Congrats on that. Best of luck.

Comment

I appreciate it. It took a lot of work and dedication.

Comment