X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Split-Second Joining

Backstory: female, 28, couch potato but of the thin-and-nerdy variety (120 lbs and 5'1").

I am currently a teacher. There is a local army/NG band that needs a flute player and the position itself is very appealing. I understand I need to audition, go through basic, etc.

I have had most of my questions answered, but I'm concerned about my current position. There is nobody else that can cover my job if I am gone, so assuming I somehow pass the audition and get the gonads to join, I'd like to do EIT sometime starting the middle of June. If I go at the beginning of June, there is a trip I am in charge of, and if I wait too long, school starts up. There is no one that can cover my position if I am gone, as I teach a specialized area in an extremely distant rural school.

I wouldn't have a lot of time to read up or prepare for basic if I went through with this. Are there a lot of people who join up unprepared mentally and/or physically? Can it be done? Should I pass on the opportunity, and maybe prepare if there's an opening in the future? I won't lie that my current occupation means a lot to me and is a bit consuming, but I'm willing to make the effort if it seems possible.

Re: Split-Second Joining