X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Best option?

I'm a 31 y/o Firefighter/Paramedic w/ Fire service related specials operations training in HazMat (Technician), High Angle Rescue (Technician), Vehicle Machinery Rescue (Technician), Confined Space (Technician), and Structural Collapse (Operations) and w/ a 2-year AA degree. I'm looking for a job in the Gaurd Reserves that offers specialized training. My only problem is, is that I would not be able to leave for months at a time for training. I have a wife and 2 kids who depend on me being there. 2-days a month would not be a problem but, not months. Is it even possible or would I be wasting my recruiter's time by walking in with these limitations in mind? Thank you in advance for taking the time to answer.

Re: Best option?

Some commands make concessions based on civilian work requirements but if you think those work commitments will interfere with earning the days required by the Guard to earn a good year; then I will refrain from even attempting to join.

I will go to an NG and/or Reserve recruiter's office and express your interests and concerns.

Comment

Thank you, Chief. I am going to schedule an appointment with a recruiter just to get a one-on-one perspective of my options. I was just hoping to get some experienced advice before I waste my local recruiter's time.

Comment

The shortest timeframe for Basic and AIT is about 14 weeks. Most jobs (and probably the ones you want) require a longer training timeline. While the numbers of mobilizations overseas has slowed dramatically in the past few years, you must consider the possibility of a yearlong deployment. If spending time away from home is a catastrophe for you, then I don't see how military service could work.

You may wish to consider the State Defense Force.

Comment

Originally posted by matthew.ritchie View Post