Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Home of Record

Hello,

Well, looks like I'm going from Active Air Force to Guard and I got a position as a full time Tech in a WG11 spot here in Missouri doing the exact same job I do now. Im currently a Florida resident and dont pay property tax or state tax for Florida but in Missouri they do. Once I go Guard in Missouri do I have to swap to Missouri or is there a way to stay a Florida resident? Thanks in advance for any help in this matter. Cant wait to be a civilian. - Rick

Re: Home of Record

Originally posted by Zonly1 View Post
    Hello,

Well, looks like I'm going from Active Air Force to Guard and I got a position as a full time Tech in a WG11 spot here in Missouri doing the exact same job I do now. Im currently a Florida resident and dont pay property tax or state tax for Florida but in Missouri they do. Once I go Guard in Missouri do I have to swap to Missouri or is there a way to stay a Florida resident? Thanks in advance for any help in this matter. Cant wait to be a civilian. - Rick
    Technically speaking, a reservist does not get the exemptions of claiming another state like an active member would.

Comment

Originally posted by ParalegalNCO1 View Post
      Technically speaking, a reservist does not get the exemptions of claiming another state like an active member would.

I've searched the net for this answer and yet to find one stating for fact whats the law. I've come to learn to search the facts/laws on anything Im told I can or cant do. Being able to keep Florida would save a lot of cash. This job is too good to not let go by. Its a $10-15k a yr pay raise depending on what Step I come in as. With my experience it could be step 3-5.

Comment

Originally posted by Zonly1 View Post