X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• When to enlist? Pros and Cons

(I didn't intend to write an essay, but I hope you like reading.)

Since I have limited knowledge of the Guard and its benefits, I wanted to gather more opinions on my question. My question is: When should I enlist, before or after I graduate with my Bachelor's?

The Backstory:

I have about a year and a half to go until I graduate in Illustration and a minor in Business. My last year will be part-time, so I am able to apply for jobs or internships in my career path. I am interested in joining the Guard as a linguist while pursuing an MBA in Marketing, paying off my student loans, and building leadership as well as communication experience to have more opportunities in my career outside of the National Guard. I currently work part-time during college and really don't have a whole lot of free time, but my summer is wide open.

Here are my options:

1) Take the ASVAB before the summer, enlist, possibly participate in RSP during school, go to Basic Training as an E3 over the summer, monthly training while in my last year of school, graduation, AIT. This option would allow me to to get Basic Training out of the way earlier and would allow me to really focus on the ASVAB without having to worry about applying for internships, creating portfolios, and attending interviews. I would also get the 50% bonus after AIT sooner, which would probably go straight towards my loans a year sooner than the 2nd option. However, this option takes out the opportunity of a summer internship, which will be much harder to get after graduation. I can still do a fall internship or something in my career path during my last year of college.