X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Research for book...

I am writing a book for teens where a young man joins the NG in Oklahoma and is deployed to Afghanistan. I made this choice after speaking with several local recruiters. I have him enlisted as a MOS 11B which I understand is an infantryman. I was told this is the most likely placement for most beginning soldiers. I need information on the day to day events of a MOS 11B in Afghanistan. Are they stationed at Bagram Air Base? What types of patrols do they go on? How many would typically be in a unit? What types of weapons and vehicles do they use? What are the rank and titles of the people in a unit?

I would greatly appreciate any help you could provide with this. I want the book to be realistic. I am a middle school librarian and have a lot of young men who are interested in the military. There are not a lot of realistic fiction books that are written from the soldier's perspective and I am hoping to change that. Thank you again in advance for any help or resources you can provide.

With gratitude,

Kelli

Re: Research for book...

Originally posted by chefseuss View Post
    I am writing a book for teens where a young man joins the NG in Oklahoma and is deployed to Afghanistan. I made this choice after speaking with several local recruiters. I have him enlisted as a MOS 11B which I understand is an infantryman. I was told this is the most likely placement for most beginning soldiers. I need information on the day to day events of a MOS 11B in Afghanistan. Are they stationed at Bagram Air Base? What types of patrols do they go on? How many would typically be in a unit? What types of weapons and vehicles do they use? What are the rank and titles of the people in a unit?