Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Student needs Statistics, pls help

Hello everyone

I am a 24 year old economist student from Switzerland. At the time, military service is mandatory in Switzerland. In 2013 the Swiss people will vote about keeping mandatory military service or not. The alternative to our current army would be a voluntary-militia system, like the NG is.
    Because I am very interested in this field I am writing my bachelor thesis about it. My goal is to find out if such a model could attract a sufficent number of soldiers in Switzerland. And also the level of education these soldiers would have. Because often people tend to say (at least here in Switzerland) that such a model would only attract very few and bad qualified staff.
    In oder to get some data about the quantity and quality of NG (and also the Army Reserve) soldiers I already googled a lot and I found some interesting and useful sources. But still I find it hard to get some very good data about this.
    So if anyone would provide me with some helpful links I would be really thankful.

Many thanks and greetings

Mezmo

Re: Student needs Statistics, pls help

Mezmo,

What data are you looking for specifically? Age, economic background, educational attainment, entry test scores? The US military has a population distribution that is statistically different from the general populace primarily because mental, moral and physical requirements are in place to sift through the applicant pool and reduce overall government liability. We use financial and educational incentives along with other various opportunities to attract applicants from all walks of life. The argument that a volunteer model would attract only a few and poorly qualified people is a nonsequitor. The "carrots" offered for enlistment is what attracts "better" people. Our standards, honestly, are not particularly high...but we use potential to create a better labor/warrior force.