X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Personal Experience w/ Being in NG and College Life

So I am currently a high school student that is very seriously interested in joining the National Guard. I just had a talk with my family today about joining the NA and they said that they were very much impressed by my mature decision. They also appreciated that I thought it through. So my plan is to enlist while I attend my college education. My family members did bring about a good idea however: They were concerned that if I joined I may have difficult juggling my schedules between the armed forces and college life. So I come to the forums asking for anybody with experience in the National Guard with their college education. PLEASE, I ask that you be honest and unbiased. I really would like to get a sense of how life is going between the two. Did you feel overwhelmed? Did you regret/not regret the decision? Why? Have you ever been deployed for active duty while in school? And if so, how did they affect your schooling?
    Sincerely,
    Ben

Re: Personal Experience w/ Being in NG and College Life

I enrolled in my freshman year of college right before I went to AIT. Once I returned from AIT I flew to pre-deployment training 8 days later. After a 15 month deployment I returned just in time to start the spring semester. So I found a part time job and went to school full time using the GI Bill. As long as I didn't overwhelm myself with too many credit hours or overwhelm myself with too many work hours everything was gold. With drill being only one weekend a month and 2 weeks in the summer it was really easy to balance the NG, college and work. Sometimes drill can take place on Friday, Saturday and Sunday so I advise that you don't take any classes that meet on Friday or Saturday.

Comment

Originally posted by SGT Juggernaut View Post