Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Branching aviation through the guard

Hey Guys:

I am currently a freshman in college and am looking to branch aviation upon commissioning. I have grown up around aviation, my dad owned his own helicopter business in the D.C. area and I flew with him a ton, and I just can't live without it.

As I said, I am currently a freshman and a MS 1 with the ROTC program at my school. My current plan is to contract this summer and become an SMP cadet ideally with an aviation unit about an hour away. I have been doing a lot of research as to whether or not you have a better chance of getting branched aviation through AD or ARNG. I have heard mixed reviews on both and was wondering if anyone knew if it is indeed true that you have a better chance of getting branched aviation with the guard. (All of this is assuming that I am in good standing with my unit and have respectable LDAC and PT scores).

I am well aware of the Warrant officer route and really am not currently willing to take the risk of enlisting and making that shot in the dark and hoping for a WOCS slot and eventually a Flight Slot.

Also, a kind of unrelated question, but is there such a thing as a 3 year GRFD scholarship? Some ROTC websites acknowledge it while others don't.

If anyone would rather PM me, that is fine too.

Thanks for the help guys!

Re: Branching aviation through the guard

I'm pretty sure it's a lot better shot at going the warrant route than trying to branch aviation. I know I see emails every year about needing warrant pilots and when I went to a pre-woc course, there were a couple PVTs in there that were getting ready to be pilots.

Comment

This is a conversation you should have with your State Army Aviation Officer, and/or Command Chief WO. Since the majority of the pilot slots are warrant officers, statistically that's your best venue if all you want to do is fly.

Comment