X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Retinitispigmentosa found out I have this today

Hey guys, I've been thinking and finally made up my mind about joining the guard as a 68W (medic). I found out today I have retinituspigmentosa.. Im a civilian Firefighter/EMT I've never notified problems with my eyes before besides the fact I wear glasses to assist in seeing far distances. With my glasses I have 20/20 vision if not better, I've been busting my butt studying for the ASVAB and everything I can do to make sure I can get the MOS I want and now I don't even know if I'll be able to join. Recruiter said to just bring the paper work with us to MEPS, I also had someone tell me to get a bill of clean health. If anyone has heard of people getting into the military with this condition or anything similar please help or any advice that anyone could share. This is my first post In this forum so hopefully I'm not In the wrong thread.
    Thank you!!
    Last edited by Tylo60; June 21st, 2012, 08:14 PM.

Re: Retinitispigmentosa found out I have this today

Originally posted by Tylo60 View Post
    Hey guys, I've been thinking and finally made up my mind about joining the guard as a 68W (medic). I found out today I have retinituspigmentosa.. Im a civilian Firefighter/EMT I've never notified problems with my eyes before besides the fact I wear glasses to assist in seeing far distances. With my glasses I have 20/20 vision if not better, I've been busting my butt studying for the ASVAB and everything I can do to make sure I can get the MOS I want and now I don't even know if I'll be able to join. Recruiter said to just bring the paper work with us to MEPS, I also had someone tell me to get a bill of clean health. If anyone has heard of people getting into the military with this condition or anything similar please help or any advice that anyone could share. This is my first post In this forum so hopefully I'm not In the wrong thread.