X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Thinking of joining - 34, teacher, coach, married with son

As stated above I'm am 34 in a week, and teacher, coach, married with son.

I have a Master's Degree in Education.

I am thinking about signing up, I live in Kentucky, closest unit is 1 mile away from me in West Virginia.

Suggestions, questions I should ask recruiter etc?

Re: Thinking of joining - 34, teacher, coach, married with son

A little more information would be helpful. You say you are thinking about signing up, so what would make you actually sign up? What would make you not sign up?

What is the experience that you hope to have as a soldier?

Forgive me if the following sounds harsh. Because you have a degree, you are eligible to enlist as an officer candidate. However, unless you truly feel the calling to be a leader of soldiers, I cannot advise you strongly enough against this option. I know that emotions and sentiments can be difficult to convey via text, but your post indicates a great deal of hesitation. This is not the stuff of an officer candidate; those seeking a commission should be motivated by the strongest of convictions. If you are still deciding what role (if any) you want to play in the military, I recommend that you join as an enlisted soldier first. In time, if you feel the calling to become an officer, you may pursue that option.

The above is not meant as an insult; when I joined I was 18 and very immature and, to be honest, I was motivated primarily by the desire to pay for college. But my first deployment changed all that -- big time.