Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Re: ING letter of disinterested parties

Originally posted by Gary Williams View Post
    I am an officer in the Guard, and I was pursuing another degree in engineering until my wife and I found out she is pregnant. I found a really good job, but the position I applied for and was given an offer for is Saturday, Sunday, and Monday.

I was looking at resigning my commission, but there is no guarantees with that path. I was reading in AR 140-10 and AR 135-175 that there is a hardship/dependancy clause. With the extreme conflict with this new position and continuing my obligation with the guard, what is my best course of action?

I am not trying to get away from any obligations I may owe, but the conflict with a job that provides for my family is what comes first, though the experiences the Guard gave me are great, but I think it's served its time.

The position I was offered is in another state, and the transition and training period for the new job will conflict with training in the state I am currently in.
    Service in the Guard can often prove more difficult than service in the active component.